The Masseria, formerly called Martucci, one of the oldest in the area, resulting in the locality of the surrounding district, was founded in the 18th century and later expanded in 1887 when it became the Fanelli family. The Masseria was a working farmhouse until the day this exciting restoration began. The ground floor rooms and what is now the Pool House were used for agricultural purposes, while the prior owners occupied the first floor rooms only. Masseria Le Cerase’s patrons he architect, she historian saw the potential in this listed building, originally accessed via drawbridge, and enlisted the help of local craftsmen and international experts to turn it into something truly spectacular. Their sensitivity to the buildings unique legacy is evident in the features that have been maintained, such as the characterful cattle troughs in the drawing room, and the traditional stonework throughout the estate. The journey from functioning farmhouse to luxury retreat was a celebration of local craftsmanship and building techniques restoration, working together seamlessly to create a sanctuary of Old World charm. The architect’s attention to detail and authenticity combined with the advanced technology of the plants give an air of modern refinement to the interior, while the history of the site lives in the massive stone vaulted ceilings of the Masseria and in the 17th century chapel.